NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Psychology & Gerontology Research Guide: PSYC 328: Seminar in Aging

Core Gerontology Databases

Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts in Social Gerontology features over 110,000 records (1966-present) that cover a variety of subjects related to aging.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy,

Searching Abstracts in Social Gerontology and AgeLine
Abstracts in Social Gerontology and AgeLine are both databases that focus solely on literature about the elderly. This handout provides instructions on how to search them simultaneously.

Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles for subjects relating to education, family, gerontology, health services, housing, mental health services, nursing, social work, and substance abuse, 1987 to present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer reviewed.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.

Google Scholar is easier to use at first than a library database, but it does not provide the many search features of a structured database.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Once on the site, click the “hamburger icon” (3 horizontal lines at the top left). Visit Settings then Library links. Search for "NEIU Libraries - Find It @ NEIU", check its box, and click Save. This will let you easily link to the NEIU Libraries' subscriptions through Google Scholar. In the results list click the >> icon to see the Find It @ NEIU link.