Below are subject databases that may pertain to your site for service learning.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology features over 110,000 records (1966-present) that cover a variety of subjects related to aging.
References to articles from over 10,000 full text journals on a wide range of academic areas. Included is a searchable collection of images plus videos from the Associated Press from 1930 to the present.
The premier source for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy,
References to articles for subjects relating to education, family, gerontology, health services, housing, mental health services, nursing, social work, and substance abuse, 1987 to present.
References to articles (many full text), books, and more on art and architecture (coverage varies by title).
Index of journal articles, books, theses, curriculum guides, conference papers, standards, and guidelines on a wide range of education topics. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.
Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice, 1871 to present
References to articles and other publications on social work, human services, and related areas, 1979 to present.
References to articles, books, and more on sociology and related disciplines, 1952 to present.
Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas, 1938 – present.
PsycTESTS is a repository of over 40,000 psychological measurement tools developed for research but not made commercially available. NOTE: Many of the tests are available in full, but please know that if you do not see a link to the full text, we are unable to place interlibrary loan requests for tests and measures.
Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
21st Century Psychology: a Reference Handbook by
Via 100 entries, 21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of psychology ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century. This two-volume reference resource, available both in print and online, provides an authoritative source to serve students' research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but without the jargon, detail, or density found in a typical journal article or a research handbook chapter. Students will find chapters contained within these volumes useful as aids toward starting research for papers, presentations, or a senior thesis, assisting in deciding on areas for elective coursework or directions for graduate studies, or orienting themselves toward potential career directions in psychology.
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories by
This work will survey the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience. It will set the theories into their historical context and cross-reference key influences, such as Darwin's on Freud. Fifteen hundred entries will comprise key figures, theoretical concepts, false theories, historical events, and seminal writings. International in scope, this project will involve history of psychology experts from around the world and the coverage of topics will be set in global context. The aim will be to provide a reference work of more depth than discussions that are currently available in textbooks, with the ability to connect to a multitude of relevant topics. This work will provide a picture of psychology as it has emerged into the present time and position it among other related fields such as anthropology, sociology, philosophy, and medicine.
