NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Psychology & Gerontology Research Guide: CAST 210: Children and Poverty

Need help with your research?

Poverty, Public Policy, and Children's Wellbeing
This scholarly reference article focuses on United States policies. It was published in Wellbeing: A Complete Reference Guide and is made available via the Credo Reference database.
Children and Social Policy
This scholarly reference article focuses on global/worldwide policies. It was published in The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies and made available via the Credo Reference database.
Illinois Early Childhood State Policy Profile
This overview focuses on policies in the state of Illinois. It is published by the National Center for Children in Poverty.

Credo Reference: Academic Core
Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Congressional Research Service
CRS approaches complex topics from a variety of perspectives and examines all sides of an issue. Staff members analyze current policies and present the impact of proposed policy alternatives.

Google Scholar
Once on the site, click the “hamburger icon” (3 horizontal lines at the top left). Visit Settings then Library links. Search for "NEIU Libraries - Find It @ NEIU", check its box, and click Save. This will let you easily link to the NEIU Libraries' subscriptions through Google Scholar. In the results list click the >> icon to see the Find It @ NEIU link.
Social Science Premium Collection
Index and full text databases on the social sciences, including politics, sociology, education and criminal justice, 1871 to present
HeinOnline Academic
Includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 1500 subject areas, including women’s studies, social justice, education, law, history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, and many more.

Institute for Research on Poverty (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
IRP is a nonpartisan research institution dedicated to producing and disseminating rigorous evidence to inform policies and programs to combat poverty, inequality, and their effects in the United States.
Early Childhood State Policy Profiles (National Center for Children in Poverty)
NCCP’s Early Childhood State Policy Profiles highlight two-generation state policy choices that promote health, education, and strong families alongside other contextual data related to the well-being of young children.