NEIU Libraries Research Guides: Psychology & Gerontology Research Guide: PSYC 395: History of Psychology

Social Sciences Librarian

Contact:

e-remus@neiu.edu

(773) 442-4474

Subjects: African & African-American Studies, Counselor Education, Geography & Environmental Studies, History, Political Science, Psychology & Gerontology

Selected Bibliography (Books on the History of Psychology)

A History of Personality Psychology: Theory, Science, and Research from Hellenism to the Twenty-first Century
Call Number: BF698.A2 D86 2010
ISBN: 9780521116329
Library of the History of Psychological Theories (series)
ONLINE
There are currently six titles in this series.
A History of Modern Psychology in Context
Call Number: BF81 .P48 2010
ISBN: 9780470276099
Putting Psychology in its Place: Critical Historical Perspectives
Call Number: BF95 .R55 2010
ISBN: 0415455790
Foundations of Psychological Thought: A History of Psychology
Call Number: BF81 .F68 2009
ISBN: 9780761930778
Psychology: Pythagoras to Present
Call Number: BF81 .M35 2009
ISBN: 9780262012966
Forty Studies that Changed Psychology: Explorations into the History of Psychological Research
Call Number: BF198.7 .H63 2009
ISBN: 9780136035992
History of Psychiatry and Medical Psychology
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780387347073

PsycINFO - Search for Journal Articles and More

PsycINFO provides citations to primary research dating back to 1806, as well as citations to books and dissertations. It also provides a feature to display "citing articles" which can be helpful when researching historical trends and perspectives.
Looking for ideas for your paper?

Try searching "history" and another keyword related to your topic in Basic Search.
Try searching "history" in Advanced Search and combining results with another PsycINFO Subject Heading related to your topic.
Find a seminal article and review the papers that cited it.

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References to articles, books, and more on the psychological, social, and behavioral sciences, 1806 to present.

Recommended Journals for History of Psychology

The first two journals are conveniently searchable full text via the publishers' websites. The last two journals listed can be browsed by issue in PsycINFO.

Journal of the History of Behavioral Sciences
An international journal devoted to the scientific, technical, institutional, and cultural history of all the social and behavioral sciences, including psychology.
This journal can be searched full text.
For full text prior to 1996, click on "Find it @ NEIU".
more...less...
Available full text from 1989 volume 25 to present.
Theory & Psychology
Focuses on the emergent themes at the center of contemporary psychological debate. Its principal aim is to foster theoretical dialogue and innovation within the discipline, serving an integrative role for a wide psychological audience.
This journal can be searched full text.
more...less...
Available full text from 1991 volume 1 to present.
History of Psychology
Features articles addressing all aspects of psychology's past and of its interrelationship with the many contexts within which it has emerged and has been practiced.
See also the Society for the History of Psychology website.
more...less...
Available full text from 1998 volume 1 to present.
Psychological Review
Includes articles that make theoretical contributions to all areas of scientific psychology.
more...less...
Available full text from 1894 volume 1 to present.

History of Psychology Links

Stanford Prison Experiment

Online Reference Resources on the History of Psychology

Handbook of Psychology
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 047061904X
"The Handbook of Psychology is a major work without peer in scope and coverage of the conceptual, empirical, and applied advances of psychology." (Alan Kazdin, PsycCRITIQUES, Vol 58, Release 6 Article 1, 2/16/13)
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 0080430767
Although published in 2001, this 26 volume encyclopedia remains the unparalleled reference source spanning the full range of the social and behavioral sciences.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 0470170247
Four-volume subject encyclopedia (4th edition) features authoritative coverage of every major area of psychology and complete coverage of DSM disorders.
Encyclopedia of the History of Psychological Theories
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE
ISBN: 9781441904638
Survey the entire range of thinking in psychology, from ancient times to the present, encompassing philosophies and theories of mind that pre-date our modern conception of psychology as a science, and extending to the current findings of neuroscience.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780684315591
Biographical articles on the professional lives of scientists from classical antiquity to modern times.

Search Tip:: Click on "Book Index" and type psychologists
21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781412949682
Publication Date: 2008

Google Books

Public domain history of psychology books (Google Books)

Milgram Experiment - Original Footage

Compliance (Film) - A Classic Psychology Experiment Reexamined

New York Times review of Compliance
Courier-Journal newspaper article desribes the event upon which the film is based.

Find the Full Text of an Article

This button provides direct links from the NEIU Libraries' databases to online full-text articles, when available. If the full text of an article is not available online, request a copy of the article through WorldShare interlibrary loan.

Or search for a specific journal by Title or ISSN.

Journal Finder: Search by journal/magazine title

Cite Sources in APA

APA Quick Guide

Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from the official APA website
APA Formatting and Style Guide
from Purdue OWL
APA Style Tutorials & Webinars
from the official APA website